Carry Wisely

Composed 8/16/16
Description: For today’s Daily Prompt: Carry. Inspired by a timely quote from today.

One of those spurts of spontaneous wisdom
Don’t buy more than you can carry
It was, in fact, related to groceries
But carrying carries more meaning

Shall I take on your problems
Hold them close to my chest
And lift them up as best as I can
Alongside the daily stress I carry
And my thoughts and the worries
Of others, so many?

What if I drop you all over the floor?
Or bruise my own body
As I fall to the ground
And sacrifice myself as I try to manage
The world?

What good does it do you
If I buy in but can’t manage?
What good does it do me
If I buy in when it destroys me?

You cannot carry everything
So choose and
Carry wisely

One of those spurts of spontaneous wisdom
Don’t buy more than you can carry
For you might demolish something
More important than groceries

Leave a Reply

